Patricia Ashley Petty

Formerly Married Number of Children 2   Grand Children  1 Great Grand Children 

Occupation/Career Description

I am a manager for Kraft Foods, with responsibility for communication support within the Nabisco Biscuit, DiGiornio and Tombstone Pizza sales/logistics/supply chain organization. I am currently located in Wilkes Barre, PA less than 100 miles from NYC. I have a staff of 20 individuals who are charged with keeping US employees informed of company promotions, timelines, new item releases, sample distributions, and are integrally involved in providing a myriad of other support resource options. My department is responsible for a national mailroom support function that touches approximately 8,000 employees on a daily basis. We work to find solutions to improve productivity and efficiency to allow the field organization to meet sales projections without distractions.

Military Service (Branch/Date/Locations/The Good/The Bad)

Hobbies

I love to sew! It is a continuation of a skill I learned at the age of 8. Sewing gives me a creative outlet that keeps me rushing home from work to "work" some more! The ideas never end, just the time to complete the projects; that's what retirement is for, right?

Most significant thing in my life between 1965 and 1970

The beginning of a new family and children that are cherished beyond expression after my graduation from Texas Tech with a BS degree in Home Economics: major area of study, Early Childhood Education.

Best job I ever had (or place of residence) and why

The one I have now is really great! At the time I came into the company several years ago we hadnít been bought by Kraft yet, we were still Nabisco Biscuit Company. Upon accepting the offer for a position in Lubbock with the Company I returned home to find flowers on my doorstep and a note that read, "Welcome to the Nabisco family, we look forward to great things with you as a member!". The tone had been set and I have not been disappointed (I donít think they have been either, I hope!) There are big challenges and sometimes pretty tough circumstances but having the opportunity to work with professionals and experience a fast paced environment where things are changing quickly makes for never a dull moment!

Worst job I ever had (or place of residence) and what I learned from it

Details too insignificant to mention except that it forced me step out onto an unknown limb and trust God to take care of the details. A great lesson I continue to be grateful that I learned, it comes in handly often.

Ready to retire Ė or more dragons to slay
(What will you do with your time in the next 10 years)

Iím not quite ready to retire but when I do I will be taking a direct and deliberate route back to Texas! Being away these past several years has made me all the more aware of what a unique and wonderful place my home is. Since my children are both established and settled in Texas that's just icing on the cake! At this point I am working to build a home-based business to help support my "sewing habits and obsessions" when I leave Kraft. As I mentioned earlier, I love to sew and am specializing in Heirloom and French Hand Sewing as these techniques are applied to babyís and little childrenís clothing. More to follow, as I get closer to taking a package and heading home!

Best book(s) Iíve read since 1965

Your Perfect Right, A Guide to Assertive Living, Who Moved My Cheese?!

Favorite movie(s) Iíve watched since 1965

My most enjoyable trip/vacation

As always and forever, going back to Texas to visit the kids and family!

Most rewarding thing about the last 40 years

The most rewarding thing to occur in the last 40 years is seeing my two sons mature into adults who approach life creatively. They are determined businessmen with clear goals but there is also a sense of adventure in both that I can relate to and appreciate; I enjoy their company! They have married fine young women who have brought a wealth of talent and love into our family, not to mention a sense of humor. Having a sense of humor is a prerequisite to living with these guys, not to mention putting up with me as a mother in law! I have a granddaughter, Meagan Lynn who is 13. What fun she has been and a blessing to me personally.  Now I know where the rest of the "payoff" is that my Mother used to talk about! By the middle of July, another granddaughter will be making her appearance, Meaganís little sister, the fun and blessings just keep coming! Who knows where our next adventure may lie!

Three things I did that I never dreamed of doing in 1965

1)I had a "moment" when I drove into New York City by myself for the very first time! What a rush!
2) Work for Fortune 500 company like Kraft
3) Move 2000 miles away from my children, make a home for myself and a cat named Margaret and truly enjoy it!

Three things I havenít done but would like to (or will) do

1. Attend the weddings of my grandchildren, in very good health!
2. Return to Texas when I retire - close but not too close to the kids and by the way, in very good health!
3. Attend a July 4th Willie Nelson concert, in very good health!

Personality trait or quality I like most about myself

When I finally look difficult circumstances straight in the face, I can handle them with God's help! I'll hang in.....

Most important lesson I learned from my spouse/best friend

Fear of the unknown can hold you in circumstances that keep you from finding new adventures! Lesson learned!